Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
04-18-2013, 12:08 PM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
Adobe products?

Okay. The title kind of says it all. I am somewhat new to the world of post porcess editing, RAW shooting, etc, etc. I currently have in my possession:
Adobe Photoshop CS6
Adobe Photoshop Elements 10
Adobe Camera Raw 7.0
HDR EFEX PRO 2

Now, I keep hearing almost everyone on this fourm talking about Adobe Lightroom... What the hell is it?! I'm curious to know what lightroom is used for exactly, do I need it, and what can I do with it that I cannot do in photoshop. Mind you I am not very skilled with any photoshop or PP in general.
Thanks

04-18-2013, 12:20 PM   #2
Administrator
Site Webmaster

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Light room is mostly for photo workflow and organization. It supports most everyday editing tasks and has a more intuitive interface, but it's not quite as powerful as photoshop. For example, light room doesn't support layers.

Those who have both can enjoy the speed of light room for everyday shots and the power of photoshop for pictures that need a lot of editing.

Adam
PentaxForums.com Webmaster (Site Usage Guide | Site Help | My Photography)

PentaxForums.com server and development costs are user-supported. You can help cover these costs by donating or purchasing one of our Pentax eBooks. Or, buy your photo gear from our affiliates, Adorama, B&H Photo, KEH, or Topaz Labs, and get FREE Marketplace access - click here to see how! Trusted Pentax retailers:
04-18-2013, 12:47 PM   #3
PEG Moderator
Loyal Site Supporter

Location: Highlands of Scotland... "Hold Infinity in the palm of your hand" - William Blake
I use both Lightroom & CS6, both serve different functions, Lightroom can now do much of the quicker editing functions, but its real power lies in it's file management capabilities.
04-18-2013, 02:54 PM   #4
Veteran Member

Original Poster