Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 1 Like Search this Thread
06-28-2013, 05:06 AM   #1
Inactive Account

Photos: Gallery
A couple of questions about ACDSee Pro 6

Hi,

I have been trying out ACDsee Pro 6, and it is available right now around $59.
It looks really good - and I have read a lot about it online.
I just have a couple of questions that some of you maybe can answer.

I'm happy for the lense and camera profiles in LR 3.6 that I use right now, but I don't know if the changes in picures are so big that I would miss out a lot?? What are your opinion about that?
I know that I can do some manual tweaking in ACDsee and maybe save the settings for later use. And I do not have any fish eye lense - so the question is, if this feature is to important to miss out on (compared to LR).

There are people both for and against the sharpening and NR in ACDsee - what's your opinion? I'm not an expert on this, but think it works ok in LR 3.6.
I am thinking that maybe some 3rd party tool as noise ninja or something else can fill the gab on difficult images if needed?

My biggest concern is the missing lense and camera profiles as I think it can be hard to spot and change those things manually.
I ask primarily because of the low price of ACDsee pro right now - and because I really appreciate it's "explore like" handling of pictures, and that I do not have to import them like in LR. It seems really fast to me compared to LR3.6.

Hope you have some input - and thank you in advance

/NKK

06-28-2013, 06:12 AM   #2
Pentaxian

There is a camera profile color difference in Pro 6. Very minor and a default can be set by the user. Normally I give it a +.25 exposure increase.

I use Pro 6 sharpen for 'Capture' sharpening, I use a plugin in my external editor for out put sharpening. Big difference.
Noise reduction is fair, i use it only to remove noise generated by the capture sharpening. Once again I use a Plugin.