Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 1 Like Search this Thread
07-09-2013, 08:13 PM   #1
Pentaxian

Printing Images---Different Papers?

I am still pretty new to photography, so much that I have never printed an image before.

Is there some place that I can be directed to, or possibly someone who can share...

What are the different kinds of papers and mediums for printing?

I have seen some canvas wraps that are extremely nice, but the printer for that is super expensive...There is a company in a major city nearby (about an hour + away from me who can print that if I ever need it)...so I want to start with the basics of paper only.

What kinds of papers are there and what are the pro's/cons of them?

I have a bunch of other questions as well (such as what constitutes a good printer if I were to purchase one)...but for now my question is focused on the paper only...that way I can go to a print service and get whatever images I want printed done for me...I just need to know 'printed on what'...

I would like to become much more versed in this.

07-09-2013, 08:46 PM - 1 Like   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
As far as branding goes, your best bet is usually to buy the same brand as your printer, as it saves you most of the hassle of finding the right calibration profile.

As for paper types, there are a lot of different types! Here's a couple off the top of my head:
Gloss: shiny, produces sharp details and punchy colors but you might have to deal with glare
Matte: avoids glare issue from gloss, but typically is less sharp and contrasty
Semigloss/pearl: The compromise between gloss and matte
Canvas: Expensive but you get that awesome fabric texture
Metallic: Like gloss to the next level, really makes colors pop but a serious pain to work with
Regular printer paper: great for documents, shit for anything else