Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
05-15-2014, 11:36 AM   #1
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Which software should I use?

So I am new to photography and was trying to figure out which software to use for PP. Comparing each one is a bit pointless as I have no idea what kind of editing normally gets done to a picture. So my question is what kind of editing does normally get done and which program would be best for doing it? I know this is a pretty general question so I'll add some things I am and am not looking for.
1) I don't want something that's going to take a week to learn how to adjust a slider. At the same time, I don't want to just click on "fix" and that's it. I want to know what exactly I'm changing and why.
2) I dont plan on taking mass amounts of photos and editing them all at once. I just want to work on a few photos here and there. I doubt I'll even take more than a few hundred photos a month. At least not in the foreseeable future. I know that's kinda what LR5 is for so idk if I need to consider that.
3) I don't need or want to cut someone out of a picture because they blinked or didn't smile (one of the highlights of PSE 12 on adobes website)
Maybe pse12 would work for me but Adobe makes it look very gimmicky on the website. I have no need to make a photo into a crappy "drawing" it's 2014, things like that were "cool" when computers first came out.

Basically I just want something that has the ability to enhance my photos without being convoluted by gimmicky crap or overwhelming with stuff I'll never use. So any advice will be much appreciated. Thanks for reading my long post.
Steve

05-15-2014, 12:01 PM   #2

Have a look at Chasysdraw for free it does quite a lot, Might not be what you are looking for, but worth a try
05-15-2014, 12:49 PM   #3
Veteran Member