Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
05-04-2008, 03:26 PM   #1
Inactive Account

Corel Paint Shop Pro Photo X2 not showing my RAW files

I downloaded the trial version of Paint Shop Pro Photo x2 after reading favorable reviews thinking it would be a viable alternative to processing RAW files over the Adobe products. I am new to shooting RAW and just considering some options.

However, the few RAW photos I have played around with (both pef and dng) will not seem to open up in PSPPx2. All I get is a black box the size of the picture.

Any idea what I'm doing wrong? Will PSPPx2 just not recognize Pentax RAW files? Is it just me? (Chances are, from lifetime experience, its just me )

Pls advise. Thanks

05-04-2008, 04:23 PM   #2
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
I tried the trial and was disappointed. PSP X2 does not recognise K100D Super, but it does recognise the K100D PEF. The only difference is in the identifier string in the PEF header. This could easily be fixed, but IMO, shows the problem of buying a Corel product: updates come infrequently.

I had a similar problem when I owned PSP Studio v1.0 - there was only one very minor update (v1.01) offered during my period of ownership (about 1 year).

Last edited by dosdan; 05-04-2008 at 05:29 PM.
05-04-2008, 10:34 PM   #3
Inactive Account

Photos: Gallery
There is a new patch on the Corel site version 12.01 It lists all the pentax cameras that PSPX2 will open with camera RAW. I don't know if this will work with a trial version but it does work with an authorized version.
You might want to download it and give it a try. It's self extracting and is a corel installation wizard so it should put the new patch right into the program.
No K20D yet for corel this might be another year down the road and 2-3 cameras later. They suck for updating their products.
05-04-2008, 10:54 PM   #4
Pentaxian