Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
05-05-2008, 05:00 AM   #1
Inactive Account

Freeware

To cheap to buy a good package so I'm looking for something for free. I'm also a amateur at using the camera let alone my 'puter. I have found "ultimate paint" and "paint.net" as cantidates, am I missing a better one. Just using the programs to sharpen, edit size and color and do not need to do graphics etc.... Thanks for any help you can provide.

05-05-2008, 05:04 AM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
What I use:

Irfanview- Simple and good for RAW images

GIMP - More complex and a lot more powerful than Irfanview. Often couple with UFRaw to process RAW images

I don't have any experience with it, but Google's Picasa is another pretty popular photo editor. There are literally tons of photo editing freeware.

Last edited by maxwell1295; 05-05-2008 at 06:13 AM.
05-05-2008, 07:30 AM   #3
Veteran Member

Although I have the full CS3 suite, my cheap and dirty goto app is FastStone Image Viewer. It's actually quite impressive.
05-05-2008, 07:36 AM   #4
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
yep

GIMP - Tutorials

05-05-2008, 11:18 AM   #5
Veteran Member

Suggestions

For general use I suggest FastStone; it is just wonderful for a free (donationware) program.

You may like Picasa. Irfanview and Xnview are also very good alternatives. You can try all and choose one.

If you shoot raw and unhappy with Pentax Photo Laboratory (in fact, it works just fine; only the user interface is poor); I suggest either UFraw + Gimp or Rawtherapee; all freeware...

Another freeware-like option is to use trial versions of other commercial software.

By the way, Paint.Net is a better alternative than Gimp for photo manipulation (including unsharp mask) if you are a computer novice and do not want to have more than you actually need.

Last edited by bc_the_path; 05-06-2008 at 11:31 PM.
05-06-2008, 04:19 AM   #6
Inactive Account

Original Poster