Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
07-24-2014, 03:13 PM   #1
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
Intel vs AMD?

Hi,

I recall reading or hearing somewhere a while ago a discussion about AMD vs Intel powered PCs. Something that AMD powered machines were not 100% compatible with some softwares like Photoshop or Lightroom. That doesn't make much sense to me but I'm not an expert. Is there any truth about this? If it was on the internet, it must be true right?
Seriously, I'm looking at building myself a new machine, as I have done in the past.

Thanks,
Ismael

07-24-2014, 03:54 PM   #2
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

AMD had a press release just last month about Photoshop CC getting AMD Acceleration. Both APUs and GPUs.

AMD Acceleration Enhances the Creative Workflows for the Next Wave of Adobe Photoshop CC Features
07-24-2014, 03:59 PM   #3
Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Latest system requirements for Photoshop here: https://helpx.adobe.com/photoshop/system-requirements.html
You don't need a high spec graphics card such as you'd use for 3D CAD work or for serious gaming.

I use Intel Core i7 and a NVIDEA 4000M graphics card. No problems here.
07-24-2014, 05:02 PM   #4
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Generally speaking Intel vs AMD - they are both comparable. I have boxes from both companies in my lab for evaluation - and there are differences that probably only my staff and I can see (or care about for that matter) for the specific work we do.
  • CPU cores - the more the better. Get at least 4 cores.
  • Memory - They recommend 8GB - if you can afford it go 16GB. Generally memory is cheap.
  • Graphic Cards - 1) Get OpenCL compatible, 2) more cores the better, 3) more graphics memory the better