Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
12-04-2014, 05:45 PM   #1

monitor calibration help

I am new to DSLRs having just bought a k-50 (but previous 35mm and bridge camera experience) and I'm having trouble with the color on my monitor and subsequently printing. I calibrated my screen by eye using the calibration tool built in to Windows- it got me fairly close but I wanted to be a little closer on my colors. I bought a Colormunki Smile and it actually made things considerably worse. I tried it several times with the included software and got poor results every time. So then I downloaded Argyll and dispcalGUI and got approximately the same results color wise as with the Colormunki software. Overall, the calibrated monitor is much lighter and very washed out. Viewing the photos on the camera display they are much closer to the monitor I calibrated by eyeball and my prints more closely match the calibrated-by-eye as well. My guess would be that I'm missing some (important) aspect of the monitor calibration process but I have no idea what. The number of online resources is somewhat overwhelming and seem to cover more theory than practical issues. Can someone point me in a direction?

12-04-2014, 06:36 PM   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
This isn't how the script was written!
So, what is the brightness metric of your profiled monitor when compared with your eyeball-tuned level? Actual numbers would be nice like 120 or 140 cd/m2. The software may let you set these to a preset level.

How bright is the ambient lighting in your workspace? In general.

Out of curiosity, what's the facts about your monitor?
Thanks.

M
12-07-2014, 01:29 PM   #3

Original Poster