Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 4 Likes Search this Thread
12-28-2014, 10:27 AM   #1
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
RAW vs. JPEG

I started shooting RAW exclusively a couple of months ago. Even bought myself a new 32MG card so that I could hold more pictures. Now I'm considering going back to JPEG, because I have to do too much work using RAW. When I download my pictures I'm often disappointed by how they look, dull and drab. Then I have to apply all kinds of edits to get the picture to look approximately how it was taken. I use the image on the back of the LCD as an example for my edits and that image is in JPEG format .

I find I have to do a lot less tweaking when I use JPEG plus I have more room on my card to save images. I'm using Photoshop Elements 12 as my editor maybe that has something to do with it. I get better results using the Pentax Utility program, but it's extremely slow when it comes to downloading pictures from my camera. Anybody else feel like this ?

12-28-2014, 10:39 AM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
QuoteOriginally posted by hjoseph7 Quote
I started shooting RAW exclusively a couple of months ago. Even bought myself a new 32MG card so that I could hold more pictures. Now I'm considering going back to JPEG, because I have to do too much work using RAW. When I download my pictures I'm often disappointed by how they look, dull and drab. Then I have to apply all kinds of edits to get the picture to look approximately how it was taken. I use the image on the back of the LCD as an example for my edits and that image is in JPEG format .

I find I have to do a lot less tweaking when I use JPEG plus I have more room on my card to save images. I'm using Photoshop Elements 12 as my editor maybe that has something to do with it. I get better results using the Pentax Utility program, but it's extremely slow when it comes to downloading pictures from my camera. Anybody else feel like this ?