Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
05-26-2008, 11:55 AM   #1
Forum Member

Layers, oh those layers! HELP

Hi all

I have been using Photoshop for 5 years and feel confident in its use, however, and you may think this is a little strange, I have never understood stacking order.

I some how just fell into the habit of applyng a layer and flattening. Now i really want to get over this hurdle so that i can save important images unflattened for further re-adjustment later.

I have browsed the web for two days and found nothing that helps me. The crux of the issue is that i get to a point where i have applied maybe three adjustment layers and then aaply say a sharpening layer only to find i cannot see its effect on the image due to its order in the stack. This is what i reall need help with.

Can anyone point me in the right direction?

Thanks

Peter

05-26-2008, 03:28 PM   #2
Inactive Account

Photos: Gallery | Albums
How are you applying a sharpening layer? Sharpening is not available as an adjustment layer so you have to make a layer that is the sum of all the previous layers. When I do sharpening in Photoshop I create a dupe of the base layer (original image), convert it for smart filters and apply some USM. I then add adjustment layers on top of that. Since the sharpened layer is a smart object the amount of sharpening can be altered later if needed.
05-27-2008, 08:40 PM   #3

Hi Peter. For layers, the easiest way for me to explain would be that you have your image on the bottom and you are stacking transparent sheets (layers) on top of that image every time you use an adjustment layer. Depending on what type of adjustment you are doing and in which blend mode, affects what happens to the layer below. Maybe if can say what your workflow is generally like I could maybe suggest a way to do that in layers.