Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 2 Likes Search this Thread
02-23-2015, 05:26 PM   #1
Forum Member

Wide Gamut / sRGB / Adobe RGB / Monitors ???

Background
I shoot RAW (DNG) and my camera is currently set to sRGB mode.I use Lightroom 5 only. I am currently debating whether I should use sRGB or Adobe RGB. I do post to the internet (social media and my website) but my primary focus is on fine art prints. My printing is done by a professional lab offsite (in America right now) and I am currently looking for a new lab that prints on Fuji Crystal Archive. I am quite new to color management, but have purchased a Colormunki Display calibrator and am buying a new 24" monitor specifically for photography (looking at Asus PA248Q and Dell U2410). If I decide on staying with sRGB, I will buy the Asus. If I move to Adobe RGB, I will buy the Dell.

Questions
In my situation, what do you guys think is best for me: sRGB or Adobe RGB?
If I buy the Dell U2410, how will I be able to edit my old images when camera was set to sRGB? Or does it not matter because I was shooting RAW?
With the Dell U2410, how would I be able to edit for the web? Keep one version of the digital image for print and one for the web?
Does sRGB and Adobe RGB really make a difference at the end?

02-23-2015, 05:46 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
I don't think the AdobeRGB setting on the camera is useful for most people. It affects the JPG files. If you're going to do significant editing you want to use the RAW files (as you already do), and they have all the color information anyway. A JPG file should normally have the sRGB color space, since almost any target (web or print) will assume that's what color space a JPG has.