Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
02-26-2015, 02:18 PM   #1
Forum Member

Philosophy of photo manipulation

I'm pretty new to photography. I just posted a cityscape photo to the critique section (link), and got some great feedback. One of the thoughts about the composition was that the shoreline in conjunction with the tops of the buildings created a hump in the middle of the photo, and I can see how this is less than ideal.

I imagine the shoreline could be fairly easily be straightened out with photo software, but should I? I know there isn't a "right" and "wrong" answer here, but what are your feelings about the degree of manipulation that is acceptable in your photography?

02-26-2015, 02:38 PM - 1 Like   #2
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
all the manipulation is acceptable as long you are happy with the result.
02-26-2015, 02:43 PM   #3
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Depends on the intended purpose and clarity of purpose.

If this is an artistic shot, intended for fine art and declared as such then do whatever you want to it. The photograph is your interpretation of what you saw at that moment in time. And if you think the shoreline should be straitened, people brushed out, color enhanced and so on, go for it.

If it is in any way photo-journalistic, and intended for sale or distribution as an accurate image of that place at that time, then outside of correcting WB, contrast, levels and sharpening you should make no changes whatsoever. And you need to use caution with those edits as intentionally altering the WB to make the mood look different can be considered a no no.