Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 19 Likes Search this Thread
04-27-2015, 03:20 PM   #16
Veteran Member

On the subject of face detection, I've been using Picasa to do that for a few years over my JPEGs, and it works fine.

While it's handy to have face detection in LR, I guess, I'd rather not have face detection stealing away Lightroom CPU cycles and RAM.

04-27-2015, 03:33 PM   #17
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
QuoteOriginally posted by Circuits Quote
I have the same problem, where it seems to be slower than LR5. I have a NVIDIA GT630, which is nothing special as I don't do any gaming. However, I just ordered a new video card GTX750. My number one requirement was for it to be silent. Hopefully that will speed it up.

Amazon.com: ASUS Graphics Cards GTX750-DCSL-2GD5: Computers & Accessories

I might not have time to install it until early next week, but I will try and let you know how it works.
Thanks, but I'm too impatient to wait! So I ordered this one (Zotac GeForce GTX 750 Zone Edition 1 GB GDDR5 PCI Express 3.0 HDMI DVI DisplayPort Graphics Card ZT-70707-20M). We can compare notes.
04-27-2015, 03:54 PM   #18
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
I couldn't work out how to upgrade. The website pushes CC which I don't have.

I'm not interested in facial recognition and have that turned off in Picasa (I don't trust Google to not use it - on other reason I'm not on Google +).
04-27-2015, 04:05 PM   #19
Site Supporter

I had the same problem with the push to CC. I couldn't find a link to upgrade the standalone version. I told them so, in a pop up survey too, but I never heard back from them. maybe if sales lag, they will make it easier to find.

04-27-2015, 05:29 PM   #20
Veteran Member

QuoteOriginally posted by p38arover Quote
have that turned off in Picasa (I don't trust Google to not use it