Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
09-11-2015, 05:50 AM   #1
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery
How would you process this image to bring out the Milky way?

I've been trying to capture images of the Milky Way and have been dissatisfied with the results. While not being an expert, I'm usually content with how I can process images. In this case, however, I cannot get close to what other people are getting with their Milky Way pictures.

This was shot towards the North (northern hemisphere). There is the halo of a city 40 minutes away showing to the right. Here is the original, along with the best I could do. Clicking the images will bring you to full size versions (mine are RAW, these are JPEG sadly, not sure how to link RAW in Smugmug). Have a go at it, as long as you teach me what you did

Original

Processed

09-11-2015, 06:34 AM   #2
Veteran Member

why you don't link a TIFF image or if you have gmail/google account you can upload the file to google drive and list as public and put the download link here...
09-11-2015, 07:01 AM   #3
Pentaxian

Original Poster
Good idea, I'll try to do that at home this evening. Still, the 24 MP JPEG should be a good place to start
09-11-2015, 07:03 AM   #4
Veteran Member

BTW - your JPEG image cannot be downloaded either just to let you know.

09-11-2015, 07:03 AM   #5
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

if you allow downloading of your image from SmugMug we can take a better peek...

Michael
09-11-2015, 08:34 AM   #6
Pentaxian

Original Poster
Sorry about that. Download should be possible now.
09-11-2015, 09:11 AM   #7
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

I imagine you know this but darker skies would help.

09-11-2015, 10:53 AM   #8
Pentaxian

Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by mattb123 Quote
I imagine you know this but darker skies would help.
I do know this. working with what I have...
09-11-2015, 02:11 PM   #9
Veteran Member