Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
11-30-2015, 08:14 AM - 1 Like   #1
Digitiser of Film
Loyal Site Supporter

Organising your Lightroom workflow

Although I've been using LR for a few months, I haven't - until now - organised my workflow particularly well. I imported images into the default date folders, worked on them in situ, exported to a general export folder set up in Pictures, and that was that. It was getting pretty messy.

After searching online for something else related to Lightroom, I came across this excellent tutorial video that proposes a standard way of organising captured, edited and exported images. At first, it seems like quite a bit of trouble to go to, but it's actually very straightforward and logical. I've started working through my existing folders and images to re-organise them using this method. Combined with key-wording and ratings, I think it's a really good approach to digital asset management...

11-30-2015, 09:46 AM   #2
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
Good video. Thanks for posting.
11-30-2015, 12:17 PM   #3
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Good video, not all ideas are worth daily usage, but some tricks are interesting.
11-30-2015, 12:36 PM   #4
Digitiser of Film
Loyal Site Supporter

Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by Belcik Quote
Good video, not all ideas are worth daily usage, but some tricks are interesting.
I guess it's down to personal preference, of course - but the discipline of sorting images in each folder into Capture, Selects, Master and Output is really useful - to me, at least

11-30-2015, 01:56 PM - 1 Like   #5
Veteran Member

Keywords. Use keywords. They will help you find that photo that you took 10 years ago.
11-30-2015, 01:59 PM   #6
Digitiser of Film
Loyal Site Supporter

Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by johnmflores Quote
Keywords. Use keywords. They will help you find that photo that you took 10 years ago.