Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
12-08-2015, 11:37 AM   #1

Copyrighting My Pictures Within The Camera?

I'm new to shooting RAW and would like to process my pictures through the software Pentax provided with my K50 camera (SilkyPix). The software appears to do a great deal more than I will need. My question is, does my Pentax camera enable me to Copyright my pictures within the camera while shooting in RAW? Thanks for any help you can give me on this.

12-08-2015, 11:51 AM   #2
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
Pages 226-227 of the manual explains how to set the copyright information which will be recorded in the Exif data.
12-08-2015, 02:08 PM   #3

Photos: Albums
Can this copyright information be modified/hacked in any way to steal the photo by making it appear someone else took the photo ?
12-08-2015, 02:23 PM   #4
Pentaxian

Any digital data can be hacked. If it can be stored, it can be changed.

12-08-2015, 02:48 PM   #5
Veteran Member

QuoteOriginally posted by Urnamaster13 Quote
Can this copyright information be modified/hacked in any way to steal the photo by making it appear someone else took the photo ?
Yes. Not all regular photo apps (Picasa, Windows PhotoViewer etc) will let you amend core EXIF metadata. But many other tools will.
12-08-2015, 03:10 PM   #6
Veteran Member

Adding your copyright info into EXIF does almost nothing. It is easily modified, as noted above.
The fact that many websites strip EXIF data when you upload your image makes it mean even less.

Placing your name in a watermark helps.
It at least ups the stakes a little bit to work for someone to modify your image in photoshop or similar tool. Depending on complexity of the image and of the watermark, this may take some actual skill to remove.

Still, although you have copyright of your image merely by taking the photo, real monetary protection is not available to you unless you file via the Copyright Office.