Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Closed Thread
Show Printable Version Search this Thread
07-29-2017, 04:55 PM   #376
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by Bob 256 Quote
If it relates to RT, do you mind sharing? I have the Vivitar 14mm and would be interested in your method although I don't see too many problems with the lens that need correction other than edge distortion which is just part of all superwide lenses.

---------- Post added 07-29-2017 at 05:08 PM ----------

I'm sure this has been explained along the way but what is the proper way to update to a new version of RT in Windows? I'm a newbie to RT and just started with the previous version but it sticks in my mind (from reading this thread way back somewhere) that updating is a two step process and involves deleting some files in addition to removing the old RT version????

Is it just as simple as removing RT using Windows and then installing the new version? Is there a way to preserve profiles created in the older version?

Thanks
Well, it's easy if you have Adobe Camera Raw installed on your computer. Mine were hidden, so I switched on "Show hidden files and folders" in Windows 10 control panel, then went to my drive C, then into a hidden (and now visible) folder "Program Data" which contained folder named "Adobe", inside you'll need to navigate to "Camera Raw > Lens Profiles. I simply copied the folder "1.0" from there and pasted into my RT install folder, simply to have easy access to it. Now in RT go to "Transform" tab, scroll down till "Lens correction profile", click Browse and navigate to a folder where you pasted the "1.0" folder. Inside you'll see a bunch of profiles, broken down by manufacturers, I clicked on Rokinon and then chose 14 2.8 from the available profiles.

07-29-2017, 06:45 PM - 1 Like   #377
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
@scotty1