Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 4 Likes Search this Thread
01-16-2016, 05:15 PM   #1
Forum Member

Which "photoshop" should I buy?

Hi, I'm pretty new here and have lots of questions. In another thread I posted some questions regarding picking up new gear. I'd say that I am a pretty decent student of photography who is approaching amateur level; I understand DSLRs fairly well and certainly a lot of the fundamentals (the K1000 is a great but stern teacher!). I have never done any real digital photo editing or post processing with the exception of the default apps on my iPhone and also some settings on Instagram. I'd like to learn photoshop or another serious editing program. Which one should I pick up? Also I'd like to know the processing requirements of a computer to use for this (my dad often complains of photoshop being a "RAM hog). Thanks!

01-16-2016, 05:35 PM   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Photoshop is a graphic artists tool which lets you do just about anything you want to images, including photographs. It is also quite expensive, takes a lot processing power and has a (very) steep learning curve.

You should think about, and make a list, of what you actually want to do with 'photoshop' before making any decisions. There are a lot of choices from completely free to very expensive. For basic photo editing Photoshop is not (IMHO) the best program for the job, not even close. You would be better off with Lightroom or one of the other photo management programs. Or even Photoshop Elements and it's organizer. Or the GIMP.

If you intend to really learn Photoshop and image manipulation then sure go for it. Just be very clear what you want to do before you spend money, and far more expensive: time.