Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
02-25-2016, 01:12 PM   #16
Veteran Member

QuoteOriginally posted by Apet-Sure Quote
Any of you use RawTherapee? I'm new to RAW, and since I have zero budget for software I installed this free app. Fired it up a couple times just to see the interface. I don't know if it does layers/merging since I haven't used it proper yet. And I haven't yet read the 192 page manual.
I used it for some time until I got Lightroom. It's a decent program that has a lot of functions, but isn't exactly user-friendly sometimes (it took me forever to figure out how to export an image). The reasons why I switched are a) very little documentation, with almost all tutorials online (Youtube etc.) being on Lightroom or other payed software and not being easily replicable with RAWTherapee, b) missing clarity slider, HSL dialogue and lens corrections, and c) the fact that my results with RAWTherapee often looked unnatural.

So RAWTherapee is a decent software, but Lightroom is clearly superior, and that doesn't even include Lightroom's cataloguing options.

02-25-2016, 01:33 PM   #17
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by FantasticMrFox Quote
I used it for some time until I got Lightroom. It's a decent program that has a lot of functions, but isn't exactly user-friendly sometimes (it took me forever to figure out how to export an image). The reasons why I switched are a) very little documentation, with almost all tutorials online (Youtube etc.) being on Lightroom or other payed software and not being easily replicable with RAWTherapee, b) missing clarity slider, HSL dialogue and lens corrections, and c) the fact that my results with RAWTherapee often looked unnatural.

So RAWTherapee is a decent software, but Lightroom is clearly superior, and that doesn't even include Lightroom's cataloguing options.