Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
06-10-2016, 08:22 PM   #1
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Deconvolution for correcting slightly missed focus & motion blur

I've been shooting junior soccer for 7 years in stills, and this year in video, as well as a number of years of shooting junior athletics. I've found the deconvolution in FocusMagic useful for correcting slightly missed focus or motion blur issues. I've also looked at Topaz Labs InFocus and RawTherapee RL Deconvolution sharpening. For the work I do, FM is the simplest way to get a slightly OOF image looking better. It also offers motion-blur correction which is relatively easy to use and can produce impressive results.

This 2010 K20D + 55-300 @300mm FL cropped image (8.5% of the original 14.6MP frame) of a soccer goalie in action is out-of-focus and, due to a relatively low 1/640s shutter speed (semi-overcast), has motion blur on the ball. I wanted to keep it, but didn't know if I'd be able to fix it sufficiently.

Focus Magic suggested a 7px radius choice which works well for the player, but this over-corrects the foreground grass and does not sufficiently clear up the writing on the ball.

I ended up applying FM 4 times:

1. Duplicated original image layer in Paintshop Prox X4 and applied FM Fix Motion Blur, 16px blur distance & 10° blur direction.

2. Applied FM Fix Focus 1px to slightly sharpen up the ball. Masked this layer so that only the ball remained.

3. Duplicate original image layer and applied FM Fix Focus, radius 7px, to sharpen the goalie. Masked this to just him.