Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 12 Likes Search this Thread
07-15-2016, 12:34 PM   #1
Forum Member

Photos: Albums
PEF vs RAW

Guess it's not the first time somebody posed this question, but as I'm new to the digital world of Pentax, I've been wondering:

What is the difference between PEF-files and RAW-files. I understand, that PEF is Pentax's proprietory RAW-format. But is there an advantage to PEF, when compared to RAW, or vice versa?

As a long time Nikon-user, I'm used to Nikon-RAW-files, NEF, instead of RAW.

I've just started using my new K-3 ii and have been using the RAW-files, which my Nikon NX2-RAW converter happily downloads and let me preprocess, before I open the files in my photoeditor.

Any thoughts on my question?

Best,

STES

07-15-2016, 12:42 PM   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
I suppose you are somewhat confused as PEF and NEF are both proprietary raw formats. Is it the difference between PEF and DNG which are the formats used by Pentax cameras to store raw files? If yes, search for PEF en DNG - too much info on this forum to start repeating stuff.
07-15-2016, 01:04 PM - 1 Like   #3
Administrator
Site Webmaster

Photos: Gallery | Albums
PEF is a raw format, as is DNG. The contents of the two formats are the same.

The key difference is that DNG is universal (not camera specific) and thus doesn't need profiles/updates to be opened by software that otherwise supports the format (namely adobe software, as well as many free utilities).

If you shoot in PEF, you can use the supplied Pentax digital camera utility to convert to DNG.

I recommend always using DNG unless you don't ever plan to use Adobe software and have a working raw converter.

Adam
PentaxForums.com Webmaster (Site Usage Guide | Site Help | My Photography)