Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
07-30-2008, 08:34 AM   #1

Trying to understand ICC profiles

I am new to this whole color matching thing and I sent some prints into MPIX to have them printed. I used a huey pro to calibrate my monitor and then sent the pictures in to be printed. They all came back different than what i had expected. The photos I had taken that were saturated had a more neutral look to them and the desaturated photos seemed to look more saturated in the print. I used Adobe RGB and I think Mpix uses SRGB for printing, could this have caused the problem?

Also I'm confused about ICC profiles. I was looking at WHCC.com and I am going to try and send a few pictures there. The website says that when I create an account I can download an ICC profile from their site and use it. Now, my huey pro allows me to save my own ICC profile after calibrating the monitor. So whose ICC profile should I be using, the one huey makes or the one from WHCC? And what is the difference between ICC profiles and color spaces?

07-30-2008, 09:29 AM   #2
Inactive Account

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Yes, if you send a photo in aRGB and it gets printed in sRGB without proper conversion it will come out less saturated. You should always send photos to labs in sRGB unless they say otherwise. WHCC does use aRGB.

The ICC profile your Huey makes is just for your monitor. Every device along the pathway needs it's own profile. The profiles you get from WHCC, or any other lab, are for their printers, not your monitor. The printer profiles are made available to you so that you can use the soft-proofing tool in applications like Photoshop, Aperture, and others. You should not set your monitor to that profile, nor should you set your photo file to that profile unless the lab requests it (which is not likely).