Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-26-2017, 09:54 AM   #1
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Lightroom (Mac) & Cloud Storage

I just got a Macbook Pro from work (with Lightroom installed) and am hoping to be able to store all of my files on Google Drive. I know that I can easily use Google Drive to backup my files, but I'm hoping that there is a way that I can use Google Drive as the primary location for my images. In other words, I don't want to store any of the images locally (I will store the catalog locally). Is this possible? Or should I look into getting an external hard drive instead?

The reason I'd like to use Google Drive as my primary drive is that (through work) I get unlimited storage. All of my images would be used for work related purposes.

(In case anyone is wondering how I got unlimited Google Drive storage, I'm a school teacher and one of the classes I teach is Yearbook).

Thank you again for all of your help!

01-26-2017, 10:14 AM   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
Google Drive keeps a copy locally and a copy on the cloud...
01-26-2017, 10:18 AM   #3
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by boriscleto Quote
Google Drive keeps a copy locally and a copy on the cloud...
It does, but you have the option to select which folders to keep locally and which not to. I was wondering if there is a way to not keep any of those files locally and still be able to access them through Lightroom.
01-26-2017, 10:27 AM   #4
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Albums