Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 5 Likes Search this Thread
01-29-2017, 07:40 PM   #1
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Printer suggestions for casual at home (but good quality) prints.

My current All-in-one printer has died, so I'm looking for a replacement. It goes without saying that (due to posting here) I am a keen amateur photographer, therefore to be able to print A4 size photos is attractive (I'm one of those lazy people whom rarely visits a dedicated printers).

I have a small Canon Selphy printer which does I think 4x6's, pretty decent. It's been nice to occasionally print off a nice pic for friends or family when they've been around and I've snapped a nice pic etc, I'm just wondering if I can continue this trend (and surpass it) by either printing 4x6's in a higher DPI/quality and even larger, whilst also maximising ease of procedure (such as how to quickly get the picture from camera to printer>print with ease)...

My current camera is a Pentax K-50, but no doubt I will upgrade in a year or two, so if there's a printer that would work well with a Pentax that has wifi then that might be quite relevant. My understanding is a 16mp camera can easily output to A4 in very high quality, what's going to hold me back is the printer not the camera in this regard?

I'm also considering this time round not to bother with All-in-one's and instead invest separately in a flat bed scanner and separate printer. We also have film cameras here and artistic hand drawn work that to be able to scan digitially at a higher quality than what a all-in-one can do is attractive.