Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 1 Like Search this Thread
02-02-2017, 06:07 PM   #1

Advice on dark prints for a noob

So I purchased my first DSLR this week, a Pentax k-30. I've been editing all my photos in Lr5. They look great on multiple different screens such as my dual monitors, which are calibrated as best I could, my phone, and my HDTV which I used to show them to family. However, tonight I decided to print a couple. They came out way darker than what was shown on any screen. At this point, I think it may be my crappy printer, but I'm not sure.

If I post a couple of my shots here, can anyone with a properly calibrated monitor tell me if they look dark on your screen? Keep in mind, I'm an amateur, these might not be the best shots, lol. I'm learning though! As an aside, any critique is welcome as well :-)

Last edited by Vicioustuna2012; 02-17-2017 at 01:22 PM.
02-02-2017, 06:13 PM   #2
Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Your four photos:
1st seems OK to me.
2nd seems very slightly dark.
3rd seems dark.
4th seems OK to me.

Saturation can be a problem with some printers, some inks and some papers.
02-02-2017, 06:40 PM   #3
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

It's good to keep in mind that your screen is backlit, unlike any print I've ever seen. Lightroom's print tab gives some 'for-print' adjustment sliders for exposure. I usually push up exposure to compensate. Alternately, see if you can lower your monitor's brightness to match your prints, then adjust a virtual copy until the photo looks bright enough.
02-02-2017, 06:56 PM   #4
Veteran Member

Are your files color profiled? Does your printer software recognize those profiles?
Are you printing from LR5? Is LR5 managing colors, or your printer software? Do you have the right paper profile? What rendering intent are you using?

02-02-2017, 08:27 PM   #5
Pentaxian

QuoteOriginally posted by MarkJerling Quote