Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 49 Likes Search this Thread
02-06-2017, 01:26 PM   #16
Site Supporter

Photos: Albums
Corel Paintshop Pro X9 Ultimate

I received a free copy of Corel Creative Suite when I purchased my K-3 II from Adorama. I am new to digital photogragpy and have never used the Adobe product so I do not know how they compare. But I can tell you I knew absolutely nothing 4 weeks ago and have already removed a fence from one of the photos I took using Corel Draw. I started off using the AfterShot program which I feel is pretty easy to use for editing my raw photos and converting them to jpeg's. Here is the link to the full Corel product.

Photo Editor - PaintShop Pro X9 Ultimate - Software by Corel

I also am not a huge fan of the subscription model for software but there are some advantages to it. And believe it or not it is probably cheaper for you in the long run and beneficial for Adobe as it gives them a steady cash flow.

You were complaining about the monthly cost of $9.99. I believe the cost of the last non-subscription based PhotoShop Suite was between somewhere $400 and $600. So it would take 4 years on the subscription plan to pay for the suite. The typical upgrade cycle on software is between 2 and 4 years. So if you do the math you are probably better off with the subscription plan.

02-06-2017, 01:44 PM   #17

Photos: Gallery
QuoteOriginally posted by beholder3 Quote
That what you get when companies think there are no alternatives.

You might want to look at Photoline (PhotoLine: Image Processing & Design Software) which is small, very fast and even has some advantages over Adobe PS, while at the same time able to run pretty much any third party plugin for PS. Costs 59 EUR once.
The unregistered version runs an unlimited time I think. Extremely powerful once you learned it. I do not expect standard users without specialty requirements ever to miss anything in there versus PS.