Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 2 Likes Search this Thread
02-26-2017, 04:14 PM - 1 Like   #1

Photos: Gallery
How do you store your images

Hi everyone,

I have some knowledge about taking photos, editing it (not the best skills though), but I was not lucky to find workflow to transfer photos from camera and store it in save place.
What is your flow from camera to archiving place? Are you storing raw or jpgs? Making backups or using some RAID system? How do you sort photos and decide what to delete and what to preserve?

Can you just share your working habits? I am not professional photographer, most of my photos are traveling/family. But it is always hard to get pics
sorted and stored in safe way.

02-26-2017, 04:39 PM   #2

Photos: Albums
Right now i am still building my backup system and replacing my pc soon. This is not the most efficient or the best way to store them but works for me. Here is a basic idea how i store things:

1. Copy Paste from card to desktop (LR and other software CAN screw up sometimes while importing)
2. Copy files from card to my external disk
3. Import files from desktop to internal SSD RAID and NAS
4. Delete desktop files
5. Copy same card to my laptop

After these steps, i am happy enough to format my card
After finishing with project i move files from SSD raid to HDD raid for storage

In the end i tend to have:

1 NAS copy in RAID
1 copy in my pc in RAID
1 copy in my external drive
1 copy in my laptop ( but i do delete older files in laptop)

Edit: File names are generally like this:" 27/02/2017 - Adam and Eve Wedding"

Last edited by G.E.Zekai; 02-26-2017 at 05:01 PM.
02-26-2017, 04:50 PM   #3
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter