Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 3 Likes Search this Thread
03-03-2017, 07:49 AM   #16
Forum Member

Think rule number one is to never rely on one source for backup. No one will guarantee you the safety of your data. In my eyes, it's not an either or, it's both.

03-03-2017, 07:52 AM   #17
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by mag07 Quote
Think rule number one is to never rely on one source for backup. No one will guarantee you the safety of your data. In my eyes, it's not an either or, it's both.
Yup, that's why I'm planning to build NAS eventually (sooner rather than later). But I will back up the most crucial files right now, to avoid hair loss
03-03-2017, 07:56 AM   #18
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

QuoteOriginally posted by awscreo Quote
Thanks for sharing! But, those services are pretty pricey, and as a non-pro photographer I probably can't justify it just yet. The 1 year cost of any of those is basically the price of a NAS storage with few backup drives, which kind of defeats the purpose of the original question)
I'm not sure you saw far enough into that article. Backblaze is $50 a year and Crashplan is $5/month with yearly subscription. Bear in mind the advice in the article - three copies in multiple locations. Many of the services rely on the same underlying storage so having a local nas isn't a bad idea.
03-03-2017, 08:13 AM   #19
Veteran Member

Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by UncleVanya Quote
I'm not sure you saw far enough into that article. Backblaze is $50 a year and Crashplan is $5/month with yearly subscription. Bear in mind the advice in the article - three copies in multiple locations. Many of the services rely on the same underlying storage so having a local nas isn't a bad idea.
Yeah, i looked at first three I think, spoke too soon I guess) I'll have a look, thanks!

03-03-2017, 08:16 AM   #20
Pentaxian