Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 1 Like Search this Thread
05-13-2017, 06:18 AM - 1 Like   #1

Color Representation: Uncalibrated, sRGB vs Adobe RGB, washed out color etc.

Hi all,

Please excuse me for my imperfect english. Can someone help me about the following issue, please?

I took some photos with my friend's camera (if I remember well, it was Pentax K200D). I didn't set anything on the cam before taking the pics. I just left everything as it is, I'm not really an expert and just I used the automatic setting. My friend is not an expert either, he got the cam as a gift, it's old. The file format is JPEG.

Now, when clicking "Properties" on a file, I notice that under "Color Representation" it says: "Uncalibrated", not "sRGB", "Adobe RGB (1998)", "Pro Photo RGB" or anything. But if I open the file in Photoshop, the program identifies the profile as Adobe RGB, so now I'm confused.

Anyway, if I upload the file as it is to Facebook, without any editing or conversion, it shows wrong color (washed out, colder). I guess that Facebook converts from Adobe RGB to sRGB by it's own algorithm, but I'm not sure. Also, I have noticed that when the file is opened in Adobe Photoshop, the program asks whether to keep the embeded profile, to convert the colors to the Photoshop's working space, or to discard the file's profile. I played with the settings and I noticed that if I convert to sRGB or Adobe RGB and save it with embeded profile, the pic on the internet is displayed with it's correct colors (vivid, warmer). Also, if I open the file in Adobe Lightroom and export it as sRGB or Adobe RGB, it shows the right color after the upload.

So, it's not like I'm totally ignorant about these things, I do understand them to some extent, but still, I would really like to know, what's the RIGHT WAY to work with these files? I mean BY THE BOOK? I don't like to experiment / improvise.