Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 64 Likes Search this Thread
06-21-2018, 04:57 PM   #151

QuoteOriginally posted by emalvick Quote
It's more like a rental than a subscription. Just my opinion.
I agree, Adobe is a rental; not a subscription. Once you stop paying you are evicted from the program......completely.

I'm using ON1 now and it does most everything I want/need it to do, I get free updates until the release of the next version and then have a choice to "pay" for the next version or just keep using the 2018 version. Not paying for the new version does not get me evicted from the program I am currently using.

If ON1's next version has cool new features I know I'd love to use I will probably pay for it; if not, I still have the program I am currently using without the fear of being "evicted" from it.

Adobe is awesome though and I know if I was a pro and processing 100's or perhaps thousands of images a month it is what I'd be using for sure.

Just in the last few years though so many good new RAW processing programs have come on to the scene, I'm not sure if Adobes "rental" model was the wisest thing for them to do in the long run.....

06-22-2018, 11:12 AM   #152
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
Oh yes, if I was a pro, I'd probably use LR too. I honestly think other software is better for processing raw images, especially on an image by image basis. But if I was making money at the business and wanted to streamline things, LR is the way to go, especially with the added benefit of Photoshop for the monthly fee. The workflow is where LR shines as few other software really get that part completely down. I'm close with the catalog software I use and DxO or On1, but if I was trying to kick out photo shoots be it weddings, portraits, or other very specific situations, I might fall onto LR for speed with recognition and adjustment for the limitations I find in the software.