Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 4 Likes Search this Thread
12-06-2017, 07:16 PM   #1
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
SILKYPIX Developer Studio Pro 8

I just purchased SILKYPIX Developer Studio Pro 8 a few days ago. Let me start by saying that the only post processing software that I have ever used is the PDCU software that came with my Pentax digital cameras. I am pretty much a total newbie as far as how much a program like this can really do. I figured that since I am already somewhat familiar with what comes with my cameras this would be a best route for me. I do not like any subscription software and when Lightroom went that way I decided not to pursue getting it.

I also liked that it came with three licenses so I can load a version on my daughter in laws computer for her to use. And I can help her learn to use it. It cost me about $177 on sale which was the same as the upgrade price from PDCU to a full blown version so pretty easy on the wallet.

Playing around with it has been a lot of fun. Doing stuff like removing purple fringe, CA etc is great. My older lenses can still contribute. The "Clarity" tool is pretty interesting too. I like it. There is also a separate sharpening tool. Processing speed on my current laptop is about the same as the PDCU software so no complaints there. Still need to learn how to work on small areas of an image but that is just all part of the process. At my age I have found that I can still learn a few things so all is good.

This is not intended to be a review in any sense. Just my impressions as a total newbie to how complex modern image processing software really is. I am sure that there are plenty of people here with tons of experience using several different software packages and modules who would like or hate how various features work but to me seems pretty intuitive so far.

12-06-2017, 08:18 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums