Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 1 Like Search this Thread
04-26-2018, 07:27 PM   #1
Veteran Member

PixelShift compatible software for K-1 II

I have a K-1 II on order, and the handheld Pixel shift is one of the main reasons why I ordered it.

Until now, I have been using Corel Aftershot Pro for catalogging and RAW processing purposes. What I like most about it is how fast it is and how quick one can work on an image and process it in the user interface.

Unfortunately, it doesn't support PixelShift files.

What are people using for PS/DPS files in terms of both raw processing and catalogging apps ?

I don't need the most advanced app necessarily - I prefer something easy to use and quick to processI am not likely to use advanced features or spend tons of time on one image as I am just a hobbyist. But I do need the PS/DPS support.

I know Pentax ships Silkypix DCU, but previous versions never met either the "fast" or "easy to use" requirements. And I don't think it supports catalogging at all.

Pointers would be appreciated.

04-26-2018, 07:38 PM - 1 Like   #2
Otis Memorial Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
PDCU, the most recent version (5.8.1) available from Ricoh, Japan:

Windows:
Digital Camera Utility 5 Update for Windows : Software Downloads | RICOH IMAGING
Mac OS:
Digital Camera Utility 5 Update for Macintosh : Software Downloads | RICOH IMAGING
That's all there is until the various vendors reverse engineer Ricoh/Pentax's product. An accepted flow is to process to 16-bit TIFF using PDCU and use those for import into Lightroom or whatever.

Steve
04-26-2018, 07:44 PM   #3
Administrator
Site Webmaster

Keeping the camera in JPEG mode for all PSR files is, IMO, the most painless option. PDCU can do everything the camera can, and AFAIK third-party support is growing but still fairly limited feature-wise.

Adam
PentaxForums.com Webmaster (Site Usage Guide | Site Help | My Photography)