Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
06-12-2018, 11:35 AM   #1

Photos: Albums
Workflow advice

Hi ! i am a hobbyist photographer, nothing serious. I want to organize my workflow and need advice, a lot of it has to do with lightroom and how i use my hard disk space/file structure.

1.Right now i have a 2Tb internal hard disk(7200 rpm) and i have dedicated it for photography files only. I want to keep a copy of all my RAW files, exported files and other pictures on this internal hard disk and i want a duplicate of this data kept on an external hard disk- This hard disk is a 4TB WD my passport wireless pro.
I am unable to find a program which will mirror/keep my folders synced in real time on both these locations- (a) internal HDD and (b) external HDD. I found a program from seagate called toolkit which creates mirror folders and are synced in real time. But it does not work on WD drive. Any suggestions how i can do this without writing any code/small script myself.

2.i intend to follow this method-
A. transfer raw files to the internal hard disk by using lightroom import at home
B. outdoors- transfer files to Wd wireless pro and on returning home, transfer to internal HDD using lightroom import. WD wireless pro has a built-in SD card slot.
Earlier i used to just import the RAW files in big folder, arranaged by date. And i would export the files under a seperate folder named Exports...arranged by subfolders having date or event name.
I have watched few workflow videos, some of them suggest - export all Raws in one place...name the folders by event name or date..then under the exported folder- create sub folders having- 1.Raw, 2. Editable photos 3. Final exports. Do you think this is a good way to organize photos ? i used to keep all my RAWs in one folder with sub folders so if i needed i could move/copy them anywhere i want.