Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 4 Likes Search this Thread
06-26-2018, 06:38 AM - 1 Like   #1
Forum Member

Photos: Albums
Which Printer would you reccomend

I am new to printing and wondering if it is worth buying a printer verses using a lab.
Is there a brand that most of the d-i-y use?
I am guessing that the answers are dependent on the size of the prints, I wouldn't do anything larger than 11x14 or 16x20
Volume is probably another consideration. Now I basically do next to nothing, but guess once you get a printer you would want to use it.
Any thoughts on printing verses a lab and which printer might be a good starting point will be appreciated.

06-26-2018, 07:30 AM   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

I use the Canon Pro-100. It will print up to 13 x 19 and has amazing color and print quality. The print head is removable if you ever need to clean it. I have had mine for several years now and have not had any problems at all. You can usually find a rebate deal on these which makes the getting one almost free.
06-26-2018, 07:47 AM   #3
Unregistered User

Ditto for what Ttedders wrote. I've had my Pro-100 for several years and am very pleased with it. One thing to consider is that to print 16x20 you have to go up to a much bigger printer, with bigger and more expensive cartridges. It costs about $120 for a set of Pro-100 ink, some of the bigger printers the ink costs about that much for a single cartridge! If you aren't already printing a lot you'll never get your investment out of it.

When I was working I used a variety of larger Epson printers. They were capable of excellent results but all of them had issues with heads clogging. I've never had a head clog with the Pro-100.

As far as home printing vs. a lab, if you print less than a ten large prints a year, a lab might make more sense. A home printer is also nice to have because you can do other things besides photos - posters, art prints, novelty gifts, etc.,