Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 6 Likes Search this Thread
06-26-2018, 11:21 AM   #1

Uploading RAW images from SD Card to Computer

I've been shooting my K3 for a couple years now... and have been capturing all my images on two SD cards -- one for JPG and one for RAW+. How do I upload all of the RAW files to the computer (HP laptop)? I don't have a lot of time to do a bunch of post processing, so I've just been using Picasa for all my JPG image uploading/processing... and i'm not sure if Picasa supports RAW or not. My guess is no... Any recommendations/assistance would be appreciated.

06-26-2018, 11:42 AM   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
I use standard Windows cut and paste to take the images off the SD card into a folder(s). This works if you have a card reader in or attached to your PC or if you have the camera attached via USB cable.

Then you have wide choice of RAW editors, both free and fee that will work on the files/folders some of which include organisational abilities for those files and folders.
06-26-2018, 12:16 PM   #3
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by roberrl Quote
I use standard Windows cut and paste to take the images off the SD card into a folder(s). This works if you have a card reader in or attached to your PC or if you have the camera attached via USB cable.

Then you have wide choice of RAW editors, both free and fee that will work on the files/folders some of which include organisational abilities for those files and folders.
I'm not sure regarding cut+paste.
I remember someone advising to use copy+paste then delete, because - and I don't know if that's Os-dependent or what - there was a difference in the way the two operations are handled.
Can't remember exactly, but it was something like in cut operations a file is copied, then deleted, then the next file etc. and there was a higher number of accesses that could put more stress on the flash memory.