Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 42 Likes Search this Thread
12-28-2018, 05:28 AM   #31

As a beginner, I'll stuck with PhotoWorks. However, I've started with LR but it's a bit too complicated for me.

12-28-2018, 06:08 AM - 1 Like   #32
Otis Memorial Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
I'll stick with my Photoshop Elements 2018, well, now I see they have a 2019, which I'll buy this month, so far it does me fine, and I can use the Nik collection with it. I've never tried darktable. I tried LR, three times, didn't like it all three times. Photoshop I liked, but when it went cloud, not so much. I have Rawtherapee on a disk somewhere but never installed, never needed it.

In the article I was surprised to see Elements as number 2. I like it for the ease of use, it has layers, and I'd say most of what PhotoShop can do, and it catalogs your photos if you want it to, it can publish your photos to the web if you want it to. I don't do either of those things, because......I like to control where and when I publish my photos and where my photos are cataloged.
12-28-2018, 09:43 AM - 2 Likes   #33
Forum Member

I've spent a lot of time the last couple years trying decide on the right photo editing software (for me). I've used Lightroom since v.2 and I like it a lot, as well as Photoshop for some things, but I really dislike Adobe. I've had a few occasions over the years when I've had to contact their (outsourced) customer "service", but every time I have come away from the experience more frustrated than before, and feeling like they didn't understand (or care about) my problem. On top of that, they install about a dozen Windows services (I assume the same on Mac) on your computer that sit in RAM and monitor what you do with "their" software.