Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
02-15-2019, 04:30 AM - 1 Like   #1
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery
K-1 prints

I'm using the Pentax K-1 for quite some time but so far I have no experience in printing large. Recently I have been contacted by some space design company, they want to print some of my pictures and hang them in office buildings or such. As far as I understood, they want to print 4x3 meters big at 100 dpi... problem is for that they need 15748 x 11811 resolution, which is bigger than the 7360 x 4912 resolution. Are there any tricks to overcome this?

Later edit: I think the simplest trick would be shoot panoramas, but that's for the future, not sure if there is any solution for the already existing pictures.

Last edited by Hattifnatt; 02-15-2019 at 04:41 AM.
02-15-2019, 04:45 AM   #2
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Albums
Topaz Studio has a product. AI Giga something that is designed for this purpose.
02-15-2019, 05:29 AM   #3
Pentaxian

Topaz AI GigaPixel review, image resizing software tested

- Haven't tried it yet myself as I haven't had the need yet, but would if it arises. Not so sure about the additional operations mentioned about halfway through the review ("more than simple resizing") so I'd go for the trial first....

Last edited by rjbrett; 02-15-2019 at 06:00 AM.
02-15-2019, 06:00 AM   #4
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Have you tried resampling an image to 15748 x 11811 resolution ? Look at in 100% view. A print that big will be viewed from further away than say a 24"*16" print, so it is not expected to have the same appearance close up.

02-15-2019, 06:08 AM - 1 Like   #5
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

This was taken on a 10Mp K10D - so interpolation software works - but I know nothing about sources

02-15-2019, 09:39 AM   #6
Pentaxian