Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 2 Likes Search this Thread
03-10-2019, 09:01 AM   #1

Photos: Gallery
Options for HDR photo editing

I am seeking input from those of you who use various programs/tools for HDR editing. I am looking at this mostly as a way to improve my pictures that have a big dynamic range, not to make wild crunchy pictures.

I have been using LR, definitely not to its total capabilities, for 5-6 years, now using v. 6.14. I have no Photoshop experience. But due to a problem trying to install LR6 on my new laptop (although I do most of my editing on my desktop), I may be forced to upgrade to the subscription, which does include Photoshop.

I prefer tools which can be used initially without a huge learning curve but which have refinements that can be learned as one goes.

So far, I have done trial versions of Photomatix and Aurora 2019. I have gotten some results I like in Aurora (by dialing back effects) but I am not sure about the way it fits into my workflow (although I am not using it as a LR plugin, that might help that situation). If I went this route I would probably continue to do most of my work in LR after going into Aurora as I love the LR history and the ability to experiment and go back easily.

It seems like each one I try or hear about, I love it until I look at the next one, which seems even better. But I am famous for biting off more than I can chew - I am trying to take a few steps forward on a continuing path rather than jump off a cliff.

This morning I was looking at the SEIM products, in particular the NHDR lightroom presets then stumbled upon Lumist, which would require my learning Photoshop -- but I absolutely love the idea of being able to see and adjust tones, I just wonder about my ability to deal with all this.

So, those of you who are using any of these or others, like HDR Efex Pro, etc., I would appreciate your comments and suggestions.

03-10-2019, 10:09 AM - 1 Like   #2