Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
03-25-2019, 05:20 PM   #1
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Jagged lines appear when downsizing.

I'm not very tech savvy and cannot figure this out. When I view the RAW image on my computer monitor at full size it all looks sharp. But when I convert to jpeg and reduce file size in order to upload to websites straight lines take on a jagged appearance. In this instance the white numbers and letters on the boats show it the most. I've tried sharpening the RAW image. Sharpening Raw then sharpened again after reducing file size and changing to jpeg. And pretty much any other combination I can think of. Any helpful suggestions will be greatly appreciated. Thank you.

03-25-2019, 06:09 PM   #2
Administrator
Site Webmaster

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by DW58 Quote
I'm not very tech savvy and cannot figure this out. When I view the RAW image on my computer monitor at full size it all looks sharp. But when I convert to jpeg and reduce file size in order to upload to websites straight lines take on a jagged appearance. In this instance the white numbers and letters on the boats show it the most. I've tried sharpening the RAW image. Sharpening Raw then sharpened again after reducing file size and changing to jpeg. And pretty much any other combination I can think of. Any helpful suggestions will be greatly appreciated. Thank you.
What program are you using?

Also, given that sensors are inherently sharp these days, additional sharpening in post can backfire (and it certainly has in this case).

I would start by dialing down the sharpening first, and see if that helps.

If not, see if you can change the image scaling algorithm to either bilinear or bicubic "smoother" (these are the terms Photoshop uses, options may vary in other software).

Adam
PentaxForums.com Webmaster (Site Usage Guide | Site Help | My Photography)