Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 1 Like Search this Thread
03-29-2019, 06:27 PM   #1

HDR photos (to be displayed on HDR displays)

Hello,

I was wondering if it's possible to create an actual HDR image to be displayed on a HDR monitor/TV, in the same fashion as HDR movies are displayed. I'm not looking for squeezing multiple shots into the sRGB color space, but to potentially display a single shot at the highest maximum color gamut and dynamic range that a HDR display supports (perhaps in the Rec. 2020 color space). Is this even possible?

Ideally, such an image format would have to be as such that it could be viewed on an sRGB monitor as well as a fully fledged HDR display.

Does my train of thought make any sense or what I'm thinking is impossible? If so, why?

Regards,
ChromaNoise

03-29-2019, 06:38 PM   #2
Digitiser of Film
Loyal Site Supporter

I have no personal experience of doing this, but my initial thoughts are you could set your camera to AdobeRGB colour space, take multiple raw shots, and combine them in post-processing using that same AdobeRGB space.

Clearly, viewing such an image on a device with a narrower gamut would give different results, but it should still look appropriate to that device...
03-29-2019, 06:57 PM   #3
Pentaxian

Photos: Albums