Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 14 Likes Search this Thread
05-03-2019, 05:28 AM   #46
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by sqrrl Quote
I'm not an expert but that sounds like windows defender security settings checking things before loading them, you can switch it off or use other providers. It's also worth going through the startup settings to switch off a lot of the junk which they've decided people need running. 8gb should be fine, I can run it on a netbook with 2gb (albeit with lots of stuff switched off). It's not ideal to have to manually fiddle with stuff, but that's what I find I have to do with linux too.

My personal pet peeve is them upgrading my drivers to 'safe and modern' windows drivers for game controllers, control surfaces, human interface devices, video & audio devices, midi stuff, etc each update (their driver design seems to be - make the yellow triangle go away, but don't actually use the device beyond the most very basic level if at all) - I've had to reinstall hardware drivers so often that I have a folder on an external drive for it now.
That's great if switching stuff on and off is an option. But my work laptop is pretty well locked down. No admin rights, no access to some pretty basic settings. Security and commonality are given precedence over performance.

05-03-2019, 06:48 AM   #47
Otis Memorial Pentaxian

I shouldn't have said upgrade. But as a Tech and Moderator on another website, can't say which, I've been given a link to download Enterprise when I'm ready to go that way. It's not illegal and it's open to others or it wouldn't be available to download in an open forum. The link is visible to anyone wanting it.
05-03-2019, 08:18 AM   #48
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Finally motivate me to switch to an AMD Ryzen system with Windows 10 (fairly used to it thanks to work) instead of the overclocked FX-8350 setup I've got going now.
05-03-2019, 08:30 AM   #49