Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
10-08-2008, 08:44 PM   #1

Pale-looking RAW files, is it a problem?

Hi, everyone:

I am currently on a field trip with my Pentax K100D. I have been using this camera for 2+ years and deeply impressed by the intensed color in the JPEG files it produces.

But during this trip, I decided to switch to the RAW format. To my dissapointment, in some way, the pictures turn out to be very faint in color, so pale that they don't fit what I see with my bare eyes. The bright red foliage turned out to be pink or orange in the files (in Windows Photo Gallery and/or Picasa2, I have updated the codec for windows).

Comparing to the same road trip I took last year, everything else are pretty much the same. I am using the 18-250mm lens I recently aquired, but it has been tested for a month already. My camera was recently fried (somebody forgot to switch it off while changing batteries with the cable connected to the computer) but still functions.

I am serious thinking to ditch this K100D since the incident. But before I upgrade to anything else, I need to know whether the pale RAW file problem is real.

Thank you very much!

10-08-2008, 09:13 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
Post an example. I can't imagine you're getting correct jpegs and incorrect raw files. More likely, you're used to seeing the well saturated jpegs and the raw file just needs the saturation adjusted similarly in post processing. What are you using to process the raw files?

BTW, raw files are flat simply because you haven't done any additional processing to them. However, now you get to decide on the processing instead of the engineer(s) that designed the jpeg engine in your camera.
10-08-2008, 09:14 PM   #3