Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 17 Likes Search this Thread
07-23-2019, 04:18 AM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
PP question: do you boost the color?

I'm still an amateur that have been trying to learn using post-processing with Lightroom. Mostly my processing involves:

- Adjust highlight, shadow, and overall image brightness
- Crop if needed
- Sharpen if needed
- Adjust contrast
- Adjust WB if needed
- Apply lens correction
(of if applicable, start with a preset to save time, and try to adjust the above)
- Color: now comes the question, I like vivid color, so I tend to push saturation a bit. The images look better at first, most of the time, but sometimes I'm wondering whether I should do that or stay with true to life color that my lenses captured. Do you usually edit color when you do processing?

And, for example, I really like this kind of color look in this photographer's page The Best Paris Photography Locations - Full Paris Photo Guide + Map, aside from composition and lighting, can I do something with post processing to achieve a similar one?

07-23-2019, 04:47 AM   #2
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

QuoteOriginally posted by Bui Quote
- Color: now comes the question, I like vivid color, so I tend to push saturation a bit. The images look better at first, most of the time, but sometimes I'm wondering whether I should do that or stay with true to life color that my lenses captured
First, your lenses and the jpeg that the camera produced does not represent "true to life". There is no such thing. The "natural" setting may be the closest to what you recall as true to life, but no camera; lens; icc colour profile; monitor ; monitor calibration combination is going to give you "true to life"

I always tend to boost my colours a bit to give the image more punch either as a general saturation boost or for individual colours. Nothing wrong ith that as long as you don't overdo it.