Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
10-17-2019, 04:30 PM   #1
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Can I draw a box in RawTherapee and get the average of the pixel values therein?

A question for all the RawTherapee mavens here:

In PhotoShop (Elements, at least - that's what I have) and Darktable, I can draw a box within an image frame and have the software report the average R, G, B values of the pixels within the box.

Can I do that in RawTherapee? If so, how? If I move the cursor around, I can see the RGB values for whatever pixel I happen to be over, but I'd rather see an average value over a number of adjacent pixels.

10-17-2019, 04:53 PM   #2
Pentaxian

No way to do that as far as I can tell (I've been using RT for several years). I also searched Rawpedia to be sure.

One hack you might try is to activate wavelet levels and view the residual image (background Residual, process one level, Residual). You'll get a really blurry image that might give you a local average, but I'm not sure how accurate that would be.

You could ask on discuss.pixls.us, you might get a better answer--or might interest one of the developers to implement your suggestion...
10-17-2019, 04:54 PM   #3
Pentaxian

Photos: Albums
How about:

1) draw a box, copy that rectangle, make "new image from clipboard," and then downsample to 1x1?

2) use a standalone utility: Mac OS has the "Digital Color Meter" that reports the RGB value of a small square up to 11x11 pixels. (Other OSes probably have something similar)
10-18-2019, 07:48 AM   #4
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

I'm still very basic in my post depth and skills. What do you do with this value once you have it?

10-19-2019, 03:41 PM   #5
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Original Poster