Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 2 Likes Search this Thread
01-01-2020, 07:54 PM   #1

Photos: Albums
Looking for advice on post processing software

I apologize for the length of this post. But I'm not a total newbie asking the totally naive question of "What software should I use to post process photos?"

So a bit about myself:

I'm a mac user and my current laptop that is used for processing my photos is running OSX version 10.13.6 (High Sierra) and it's an older mac from 2012. I'm not interested in updating my computer right now since I can't really afford to do that.

I've been taking digital photos since 2001. First on an Olympus Camedia, then on a K-100D, and now I've got myself a brand new used K-3 this Christmas. I recall what software I used to process the Olympus pictures, but it was probably the software that came with the camera. I did, however, learn the basics of dealing with jpeg editing way back then and just as important, I learned that I rather enjoyed post processing the pictures that came out of the camera.

When I got the K-100D in 2007, Macs were still running some version of iPhoto that unfortunately did destructive editing of jpegs and did not recognize raw files at all. Moreover, iPhoto was difficult to use. At some point I started using SilkyPix because it could handle raw and with its "save the parameters and 'develop' a new jpeg" seemed to be far less destructive when editing jpegs. And while I didn't ever really master all the real power of SilkyPix, I did become competent at post processing my files to get photos I was (mostly) happy.