Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 24 Likes Search this Thread
08-21-2020, 07:13 AM - 3 Likes   #1
Forum Member

How to make an invisible visible?

Hello, fellow pentaxians, I am not a professional photographer and a newbie in this forum. Though I always had some questions about the post-processing. One of the pictures that I always wondered about is the one I added below. I took it by chance, while walking in the early morning by the pier in Greece. When zoomed-in, you could see a man with a fishing-line attached to a match. However, when the photo is zoomed out, all you can see is a man holding a match, and a fishing line is not visible. Is there a way to make the fishing-line more visible without too much re-doing the original picture itself and without adding something that was not there in the first place? I have tried to move various sliders back and forth, though I did not get the expected result. I was hoping you could share your insights on the post-processing.
And of course, at the same time I wanted to share with you the picture that I got by chance and that surprised me in a very pleasant way. The paused moment and the unusual fishing method seems really mesmerizing to me.

Attached Images
View Picture EXIF
PENTAX K200D  Photo 
View Picture EXIF
PENTAX K200D  Photo 
08-21-2020, 07:53 AM - 2 Likes   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
Hopefully youm are working with a raw file, you'll have a lot better chance if you do. The easiest thing to try in my opinion would be increasing contrast. After that I would try some individual color sliders, but what ever you are doing, watch the rest of the photo too. To make it more visible you may have to sacrifice color, although black and white may actually be better than color with this photo.
08-21-2020, 08:08 AM - 2 Likes   #3
Pentaxian

Photos: Albums
Nice picture!