Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
11-06-2008, 10:20 AM   #1
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
trying out color management profiles with ufraw/gimp

This thread got me thinking, and experimenting, and so far all I can say is I don't know quite what to make of it all.. Which isn't surprising since I am poking into things I have no background in...

Here is an example:
(1) The first shot (see first picture below) is a screenshot of the raw image file taken with my K100D (and FA50mm)... It's tweaked to my best ability in UFraw (latest version), with the Phase One (Capture One) K100D generic color profile (set to .45 gamma and .05 linearity). It looks pretty realistic/expected to me. The color on her face is expected due to the point and shoot LCD...

(2) The next screenshot (see below) is the interpretation from UFRaw sent to the GIMP and then just saved with no color profile used in the GIMP and no adjustments, then opened in Irfanview for the screenshot.

(3) The third screenshot is the same as the above, but while it's still in the GIMP. (slight difference between GIMP's interpretation and Irfanviews).

(4) The fourth screenshot is the same image copy in the GIMP but now using the Phase One (Capture One) K100D Generic color profile.

(5) The fifth screenshot is the same image copy in the GIMP, but now using the Bibble Pro "Pentax 3" color profile.

(6) The sixth screenshot (had to link to here because of the 5 file attachment limit) is my original edited copy of this shot, where I was just messing around and edited levels etc using the GIMP with the Phase One color profile and it was looking kind of weird on my main monitor (especially the face), and this got me thinking to investigate it further with no profile and then the Bibble profile when I found out about it.