Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 5 Likes Search this Thread
11-30-2020, 09:04 AM - 1 Like   #1
Banned

Basic Photo Software

I am curious about using an editing software. Just basic really. I don't need or want to get into very complex things ala Photoshop. Just want to be able to crop or maybe use some filter effects mostly for outdoors type photography. I don't want a subscription deal either. I am just a rank amateur having fun. Some kind of cataloging feature possibly as well. Also a non destructive RAW capability. Not wanting to get into making advanced manipulations and want to keep as simple as possible without having to go to school to learn.

I see there are several choices. I would like to get something I can purchase once and get a couple years out of before having to buy again. I wish to keep under $100 US. Any thoughts? Thanks.

11-30-2020, 09:12 AM   #2
Digitiser of Film
Loyal Site Supporter

I'd heartily recommend "digiKam", which is available for Windows, Linux and Mac. As an open source application, it won't cost you one red cent unless you choose to donate at some point (which, hopefully, you will if you find it useful). Its real power is in photo library management, but it includes a pretty decent, easy-to-use raw conversion and photo editing tool... certainly more than capable of handling the basic requirements you mention, and much more.

I use it for photo management alongside Darktable and RawTherapee for raw processing.

You can download it here:

digiKam - Download
11-30-2020, 09:14 AM - 1 Like   #3
Pentaxian

Photos: Albums
Affinity Photo.

Regular price $99.00 Black Friday specials all 30%off.
I stopped using Adobe (owned PS7 on up) and switched to Affinity.

Other cheaper options, I keep loving Affinity Photo

Hang up and DRIVE!
11-30-2020, 09:28 AM   #4