Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
11-13-2008, 09:39 PM   #1
Inactive Account

How to HDR

I tried to post this earlier, but it didnt work, so Im sorry if it is a double post.

I dont really get this HDR thing. Is it a program I have to buy? Is it in photoshop? Do you shoot in HDR or manipulate afterward? I want to play with it, but I just dont know where to start. Any info will be helpful. Thank you.

excuse me if this is a stupid question.

11-17-2008, 06:43 PM   #2

Photos: Gallery
I'm no expert but I will tell you what I know. HDR is high Dynamic Range. The image has detail in the dark areas and the light areas as well. Usually in high contrast scenes the photographer has to expose for one or the other, or some happy medium--but the sacrafice is deatail on the light or dark end.
HDR is usually done by shooting the very same photo (on a tripod) in 3 or more various exposures-- from over to under exposed so all the information is gathered. Then software is used to combine the best of all the images--resulting in detailed shadow areas and highlight areas. I use photoshop CS3 and within the program there is a way to have the computer combine the images for you and create the image. I have also seen some tutorials online where people create their own HDR -- basically using alot of layers each exposed differently, then using blend modes and alot of sharpening until they get the desired effect. Check around the internet --there are lots of tutorials available.
11-17-2008, 09:52 PM   #3
Damn Brit

Step away from HDR. It's not clever, it's not funny and it definitely can't make coffee.
11-17-2008, 10:05 PM   #4

It is a multiple exposure thing. It looks rather unique when complete. If you want to do it right then google it. You will find that it requires you to take 3 images then layer them.