Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 1 Like Search this Thread
05-16-2021, 08:16 AM   #1

Photos: Gallery
Corel Paintshop Pro

Anyone using Corel Paintshop Pro? I have been using it since the X2 version and will be upgrading to the current one soon.

05-16-2021, 08:26 AM - 1 Like   #2

I use the 2018 version but rely on DXO, current version 4, to process the raw image and then use paintshop for specific tasks. Corel has their own raw processing program, Aftershot, but I was never happy with the results.
05-16-2021, 11:08 AM   #3
5ks
Pentaxian

I have been using Paint Shop Pro for many years (instead of Photoshop). Lately not so much, because I can do most of my post processing with Lightroom (v.6). My latest PSP version is 2019 and I have no plans to upgrade. Earlier, I have used X3, X5, X9 before the 2019, and very often I was a bit disappointed in how little the upgrages offered for me. - But anyway, I think PSP is a very good (and cheap) alternative to Photoshop, if only you have something better (e.g. Lightroom) to deal with RAW files.
05-16-2021, 11:32 AM   #4
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

But lightroom isn't sold separately anymore. Only together with PS. And I don't like it that you can't simply buy it but have to have pay every month again for it.

I like the batch processing of RAW with the use of a grey card in PS. Don't know or it is as easy (or even possible) with PSP.

Last edited by Sakura; 05-16-2021 at 12:09 PM.
05-16-2021, 11:56 AM   #5
Otis Memorial Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
I used to use PSP, but moved to Affinity Photo for raster editing. Both PSP and Affinity offer rather poor support for RAW processing, IMHO.

Steve
05-16-2021, 02:45 PM   #6
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Albums
90% of my images are processed solely in LR 5 (+ Nik collection; + hugin for stacking ), but when I want to go beyond the usual processing I switch to PSP 2019.